Ivory Siege Tower

mobile construct built of thoughts and parentheses

Music Albums of Summer

[2024-08-12]

music personal st_post

§ E-Mantra

Sweet Goa Trance for head-banging on planes and trains during long transit times.

§ James Devane

Taking up Modular and waiting for the launch of Microrack, I'm also trying to setup my Substack subscriptions to make some sense. That's how I've stumbled upon an interview that opened me Devane's music and possibly other reentry points to the Minimal Techno space.

Funny how James is using random slicing for combinatorial tracks construction on Searching.

These recordings are the result of chance. Using hours of source material, everything was “chosen”, manipulated, and assembled at random via custom software without concern for key, tempo, measures, or rhythm. A search button and a save button.

§ Dettinger

Exploring minimal techno that inspired Devane.

§ Lorenzo Dada / Luciano Michelini

Following up recent releases on Kompakt. A delicious synth/acoustic blend!

§ Gunship

Back to the pop music for long train rides and late nights. This one with a New Retro-Wave Synths style (as everything I'm listening to now has synth notes in it).

§ Shellac

All of a sudden, found out Steve Albini had died of May this year.

I enjoyed the distinct mocking and evil punk of Shellac back in the University (same two qualities I value in e.g. Stormtroopers of Death thrash metal). Their last album "To All Trains" also resonates with the summer mood of frequently going out somewhere by Deutsche Bahn - with all complications such a trip implies...

§ Bad Sector

Back to ellectronic sounds, Bad Sector makes perfect soundtrack for my ongoing SciFi roleplaying sessions... The kind of sounds I'd like to make myself!