Ivory Siege Tower

mobile construct built of thoughts and parentheses

My Time in Org

[2022-12-21]

emacs org personal st_post time_management

Task planning and routine scheduling was one of the primary use cases for emacs back when I adopted its use. Hell, to begin with, I would not finish the Embassy quest I was fulfilling right at the time (nor any forthcoming) if not the detailed scheduling of the bureaucratic procedures with deadlines. Emacs-Org is my main task planner since then.

However, despite of how sophisticated the planning here can be performed, simplicity and ease of use are of great importance to me. Namely, I must be able to plan new task that has any sensible impact on the quality of life very fast, on the go, and have them all on hand and in one place. For that reason I have just one capture template, for one flat agenda file. Only those tasks are displayed in org-agenda calendar view and todo list.

That's it. No recursive imports or cascading tasks. Of course, I do have project-vise task lists hidden in corresponding topics in Org-Roam, but there is no need to stare at them in the general agenda picture. Keep It Simple, Sweetheart, so that when the first sips of morning coffee kick in, some really important goals for the day could be selected for action.

Those daily tasks - try ignore the bad connotations that the word daily can bear - I then place as headers in the daily journal file, part of Org-Roam, and then org-clock-in and -out helps to track progress, stay on the course. Create a payroll even, with detailed time track: a built-in method once referenced in Irreal.

Recently I also started using org-timer and org-timer-item, for taking notes during talks and webinars. Didn't happen before because IMO for making that a habit one needs a really small and silent Emacs-capable terminal that they take everywhere they go. Best be if it fits in the pocket. I do finally have one, quite happy, yaaay!

That's a whole story I guess. No GTD bullsh*t, no colored Organizer pages, no slip-cases. Well, at least for the planning part of the Org-Roam wiki repository there are none.

Time management. As reliable as damn simple it is.

Social Timeline: